Y.A.H. (Young at Heart) Book Club meets the third Wednesday at 6:00 p.m. of each month in the conference room of the Wabasha Public Library.  New members are always welcome.  The YAH Book Club reads a variety books chosen by its members.

Forthcoming Books


March ’19 

Safe from the sea
Author(s): Peter Geye

ISBN: 9781609530082

Published: 2010

When his estranged father asks him for help, Noah Torr travels north of Duluth to a lakeside cabin to find his father dying and determined to reconcile some of the bitterness from the past.

February ’19 

The pilot's wife : a novel
Author(s): Anita Shreve

ISBN: 9780316789080

Published: 1998

After a pilot dies in the crash of an airliner, his wife discovers he was a bigamist. A facetoface follows between the legal wife, Kathryn of Boston by whom he had one child, and the other woman, Muire, who lives in England with their two children. By the author of The Weight of Water.

January ’19 

Small great things : a novel
Author(s): Jodi Picoult

ISBN: 9780345544957

Published: 2016

"This stunning new novel is Jodi Picoult at her finestcomplete with unflinching insights, richly layered characters, and a pageturning plot with a gripping moral dilemma at its heart. Ruth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with more than twenty years' experience. During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she's been reassigned to another patient. The parents are white supremacists and don't want Ruth, who.... More

January ’18 

Hillbilly elegy : a memoir of a family and culture in crisis
Author(s): J D Vance

ISBN: 9780062300546

Published: 2016

Shares the story of the author's family and upbringing, describing how they moved from poverty to an upwardly mobile clan that included the author, a Yale Law School graduate, while navigating the demands of middle class life and the collective demons of the past.

February ’18

Cutting for stone : a novel
Author(s): A Verghese

ISBN: 9780375414497

Published: 2009

Marion and Shiva Stone are twin brothers born of a secret union between an Indian nun and a British surgeon at a mission hospital in Addis Ababa. Orphaned by their mother's death in childbirth and their father's disappearance, they are bound together by a preternatural connection and a shared fascination with medicine. Marion, fresh out of medical school, flees Ethiopia and makes his way to America, finding refuge in his work as an intern at an underfunded, overcrowded New York City hospital. Wh.... More

March ’18 

Neither wolf nor dog : on forgotten roads with an Indian elder
Author(s): Kent Nerburn

ISBN: 9781577312338

Published: 2002

April ’18

The little old lady who broke all the rules : a novel
Author(s): C IngelmanSundberg

ISBN: 9780062447975

Published: 2016

Martha Andersson may be 79 years old and live in a retirement home, but that doesn't mean she's ready to stop enjoying life. So when the new management of Diamond House starts cutting corners to save money, Martha and her four closest friendsBrains, The Rake, Christina and AnnaGretta a.k.a. The League of Pensionerswon't stand for it. Fed up with early bedtimes and overcooked veggies, this group of feisty seniors sets about to regain their independence, improve their lot, and stand up for seniors.... More

May ’18

Locally laid : how we built a plucky, industry-changing egg farm --from scratch
Author(s): Lucie B Amundsen

ISBN: 9781594634222

Published: 2016

The author shares how she and her husband became egg farmers, and how, with very little experience, they learned to manage their business and why they believe farms like theirs are vital to rebuilding America's food system.

June /July ’18 

Galway Bay
Author(s): Mary Pat Kelly

ISBN: 9780446579001

Published: 2009

"In the bestselling tradition of Frank Delaney, Colleen McCullough, and Maeve Binchy comes a poignant historical family saga set against Ireland's Great Starvation and the building of Chicago."Provided by the publisher.

August ’18 

Stories I only tell my friends : an autobiography
Author(s): Rob Lowe

ISBN: 9780805093292

Published: 2011

A teen idol at fifteen, an international icon and founder of the Brat Pack at twenty, and one of Hollywood's top stars to this day, Rob Lowe chronicles his experiences as a painfully misunderstood child actor in Ohio uprooted to the wild counterculture of midseventies Malibu, where he embarked on his unrelenting pursuit of a career in Hollywood.

September ’18  

Future home of the living god : a novel
Author(s): Louise Erdrich

ISBN: 9780062694058

Published: 2017

A tale set in a world of reversing evolution and a growing police state follows pregnant thirtytwoyearold Cedar Hawk Songmaker, who investigates her biological family while awaiting the birth of a child who may emerge as a member of a primitive human species.

October ’18 

Hotel on the corner of bitter and sweet : a novel
Author(s): Jamie Ford

ISBN: 9780345505330

Published: 2009

Set in the ethnic neighborhoods of Seattle during World War II and Japanese American internment camps of the era, this debut novel tells the heartwarming story of widower Henry Lee, his father, and his first love Keiko Okabe.

November ’18 

The immortal life of Henrietta Lacks
Author(s): Henrietta Lacks

ISBN: 9781400052172

Published: c2010

Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor Southern tobacco farmer, yet her cellstaken without her knowledgebecame one of the most important tools in medicine. The first "immortal" human cells grown in culture, they are still alive today, though she has been dead for more than sixty years. HeLa cells were vital for developing the polio vaccine; uncovered secrets of cancer and viruses; helped lead to in vitro fertilization, cloning, and gene mapping; and have be.... More

December ’18 

The 13th gift : a true story of a Christmas miracle
Author(s): Joanne Huist Smith

ISBN: 9780553418552

Published: 2014

"For readers of Richard Paul Evans and Greg Kincaid comes The 13th Gift, a heartwarming Christmas story about how a random act of kindness transformed one of the bleakest moments in a family's history into a time of strength and love. After the unexpected death of her husband, Joanne Huist Smith had no idea how she would keep herself together and be strong for her three childrenespecially with the holiday season approaching. But 12 days before Christmas, presents begin appearing on her doorstep .... More